The (recommended) Mantra ; Charity as it is and it should be practiced.

Hello dear readers! ūüėÄ

So I’ve been 20 for well over a month now and I can honestly say I know God’s hand is upon my life.

I have spent most of my ‘post 20 days’ with my dear Elo who has been a wonderful influence over my life. I know it isn’t a mere coincidence that my lecturers have been on strike for 3months now, enabling me spend time with her.
According to Romans 8:28, I have derived a lot of good emotionally and spiritually even though I’ve been deprived of schooling .
For this I’m forever grateful to God for Elo.
I have had this post in mind for at least a month now but today I decided enough is enough with the procrastination.
Before I go on , there are some things I’d like to say.
1)I have come to understand , though I already knew , that works of art or photography used without acknowledgement of the artist is actionable in court.
so I’m using this opportunity to give photo credit to those who own the pictures I’ve used and I’m using.
The pictures are beautiful and they help me express my work better.
I have gotten them from display pictures, tumbr and google.
No ‘glory theft’ or ‘art claiming’ intended. Thank you

2)My paradigms have undergone some MAJOR shifts I almost cannot believe I’m the one. My take on everything has changed. Getting older with the right kind of friends surrounding you is more than important but extremely important. God bless Eloghosa Osunde.

3) I’ve learnt that if I don’t make God my centre and get comfortable in my own skin as Ada Yaro then rush into love I’m pretty much done for. I have to chill, make him my centre and then wait on him to hand me a tried and tested son of his if not the cycle of heartache and hurt would merely continue. And God knows I don’t want to end up old, bitter, regretful, sad and desperately hitched to a man I can’t stand in future.
Basically there’s no rush.
So!

Today, I’d be discussing charity as in 1 Corinthians 13 which reads…

[ New International Version (NIV) ]

1 If I speak in the tongues[a] of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal.

2 If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing.

3 If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast,[b] but do not have love, I gain nothing.

4 Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. 5 It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.
6 Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth.
7 It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.
8 Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away.

9 For we know in part and we prophesy in part,

10 but when completeness comes, what is in part disappears.

11 When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put the ways of childhood behind me.

12 For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.

13 And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.

I went to a christian secondary school that laid a lot of emphasis on ‘walking in love’. Looking back I wonder, was I deaf all those years? Or perhaps I got so used to hearing the words that they almost had no effect inside me again?
May God always allow his word to be fresh to us no matter how many times we read or hear it IJN, Amen.

I hope that as we all read what love truly is , that we all would realise it is the greatest command of all times (mark 12:30-31) and we all would realise what it truly is, what and how to love.
Loving isn’t mushy feelings, its work. For instance, Kenneth Hagin had to stay with another pastor in another state where he had to preach. The pastor had a nice parsonage but instead put a bed in his chicken coop behind the parsonage for Pastor Hagin to sleep in!
guess what Pastor Hagin did?
After thinking ‘I don’t have to put up with this I could just go’ , he decided to stay so as not to hurt God’s flock! (Imagine putting others first? Here I am thinking is it ever that deep).
He said he did not want them being suspicious of their pastor and if he left that would be ‘working ill against his neighbour’. This we know is not a characteristic of love.
He also mentioned he couldn’t go, decided to endure not to make the pastor look bad and all and because ‘God’s love in us never takes account of a suffered wrong’. Hmm!

Another instance is the Love between the beautiful Megan Good and her husband. Unlike the rest of the world that pointed at her and considered her ‘unworthy’ ‘a sinner’ etc. Her husband accepted her, viewed her as Jesus saw her and provided a healing environment for all the hurt she experienced in her pre marital life. That’s really how it should be. I hope to attain that level of growth and understanding before getting married if not its just a waste of time.

Scriptures to think on in the light of love as it should be.

1 John 3:18
[New International Version (NIV)]
 Dear children, let us not love with words or speech but with actions and in truth.

1peter 4:8
Above all, love each other deeply, because love covers over a multitude of sins.

Mark 12:30-31
 Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.’

Remember if you love someone you won’t selfishly decide to dress as you please and push them into sin or lustful thoughts.
If you love someone no matter what you’d be patient with them.
Remember how much God has put up with from you even when he doesn’t have to?

Stay blessed.x

Leave a Reply

