Pink Carnations and Pink Butterflies

I’ve stayed in the same hostel, the same room and on the same spot for 3 years now.
The rooms in my hostel have a similar set up. Old dark yellow curtains, wooden cupboards, wooden bunk beds, red cement floors.

I come from a home where interior decor is taken very ‘personal’ and so I guess it follows that I didn’t quite fancy the thought of returning to the same old setup for a third year in a row!
So, *drum roll*
I bought a few yards of plain dark pink linoleum and some patterned pink and blue linoleum. I laid the linoleum In front of my bed and in front of my locker/cupboard . This way I can walk from the front of my bed to the front of my locker without slippers and I can sit on it if I want to.
I saw a net like set of curtains at home which I instantly loved. I took them along with me for the hostel room. They seemed useless at home but somehow I spotted and rescued them!
😀

The curtains are white, transparent or net-like and they have pink butterflies and coloured spots on them. I hung the two curtains on the two windows in my room.
I got this very lovely wall paper with big pink carnations all over it.
I put the wallpaper up on the wall beside my bed , I also pasted it on my cupboard/locker, and since my personal table is leaning on the wall
I put some of the it on the wall above the table.
😀

Why all the stress? you may ask, especially since visitors aren’t allowed into our rooms and so not too many can appreciate the facelift I gave the room.
But then, its my corner.
I felt the need to ‘home-ifiy’ and make it my own regardless of who sees.
I did it for me.
At least I know I’d look forward to returning to a pretty corner after a long day.
I now have somewhere to stay and think pretty thoughts with pink butterflies flying around and pink carnations lying around…
*for those who stay near me, feel free to holla for assistance in making your spot ‘your own’ lol.

Have a Happy February!!!
Ciao…x

😀

2 thoughts on “Pink Carnations and Pink Butterflies

Leave a Reply

